Who Am I?

Sri Ramana Maharshi

Sri Ramana Maharshi Banner

Along with Vicharasangraham (Self-Enquiry), Nan Yar (Who am I?) constitutes the first set of instructions in the Master’s own words.  These two are the only prosepieces among Bhagavan’s Works.  They clearly set forth the central teaching that the direct path to liberation is Self-enquiry.  The particular mode in which the enquiry is to be made is lucidly set forth in Nan Yar.  The mind consists of thoughts.  The ‘I’ thought is the first to arise in the mind.  When the enquiry ‘ Who am I?’ is persistently pursued, all other thoughts get destroyed, and finally the ‘I’ thought itself vanishes leaving the supreme non-dual Self alone.  The false identification of the Self with the phenomena of non-self such as the body and mind thus ends, and there is illumination, Sakshatkara.

Space Line Banner

Leave a comment